2012: Audition #3 and #4 (callback)

An audition for a Shakespeare play is ALWAYS a good audition! I love, love, love performing Shakespeare, and am SO happy to have the fortune of working with Seattle Shakespeare Company and Wooden O Theatre (their outdoor outfit, after the 2008 merger) over the past 10 years.

Having performed in Julius Caesar (twice), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (4 times, if you include Britten’s opera), A Winter’s Tale, The Taming of the Shrew (twice – the first production being at Arts West AND where I met my future wife, Angela DiMarco), The Two Gentlemen of Verona, The Tempest, Titus Andronicus, Henry V, Much Ado About Nothing, and The Comedy of Errors, AUDITION #4 of 2012 was for As You Like It with the role of Orlando at Seattle Shakespeare Company. directed by the new Artistic Director, Mr. George Mount.

The sides for the audition were available 6 days prior (plenty of time to prepare), and my side was a speech! Kind of a tricky speech, but a good one. I rehearsed it (reading) about 15 times before the intentions became clear, then I worked with my wife for a bit, and she provided great feedback. I ALWAYS recommend working with a coach or someone you trust when you are prepping your audition pieces. Trust me, you WANT those outside eyes and ears.

When I arrived at the site, it was packed with some of Seattle’s finest talent, many of which are friends. What I love about Seattle is the support that abounds in our arts community. I did not eye my competition with hostile intent, I hugged my friends and wished them well. After all, it was a good day. I was invited to audition for a play at a great theater! I was happy. And, I had been on a positivity vibe thanks in part to Alder Sherwood and Jeremiah Kaynor. So, it was aaalllllll gravy, baby!

What I didn’t do, however, is choreograph my blocking. I will say this again: Don’t be like me! Listen to what I say, question everything, find your own truth, and learn from my mistakes. Anyhow, knowing I did not block my side or scene, I knew I had to restrict my movement. If I did not consciously limit my movement, I was going to fall victim to aimless actor pacing – dun dun dun dun! So, I started in a chair, moved a bit to the right when I was talking about Oliver, and moved towards the “reader” when I was talking to Adam. And…It lasted all of…oh…3 minutes? Short and sweet! The room was very “warm” and an audition for George Mount and Amy Thone is always a pleasure. I highly recommend it!

I am thrilled to report I earned a callback.

Thanks for reading and happy auditioning!

Leave a Reply

