2012: Audition, Reflection, Audition

Okay. I am quite behind here…I am having trouble with posting about every audition, so I will only post about my auditions when I think there is something valuable to share.

The auditions of late have been fairly straightforward. Sign in sheets, nervous actors, cramped hallways…In the auditions themselves, I received NO direction. Which, could be a good sign, could be bad. Remember, don’t focus on the RESULT!

One thing that continues to challenge me is auditors (producers, directors, casting directors) who want to see monologues, even when there are sides available. The only thing about this practice which might make sense is that, perhaps, through a monologue, an actor can show a greater emotional journey because the material is more prepared (in theory).

One thing I would suggest to casting directors is, whenever possible, get your audition materials (sides, character breakdowns, etc.) to your auditioners as soon as possible so they can give you the best possible read. It’s in your best interest, too.

Thanks for reading and enjoy the journey!

4 thoughts on “2012: Audition, Reflection, Audition

  1. I could not agree more about the whole, “auditors (producers, directors, casting directors) who want to see monologues, even when there are sides available” comment! It’s a pain in the ass sometimes…especially when auditioning for film where there probably wont be many, if any monologues in the whole script. I definitely prefer reading sides and diving straight into the material!

  2. I can’t agree with you more, David. Monologues are the most overrated gauge of talent. The only time I ever see them of any use is in as a general audition where you don’t have anything specific to read the actor for like EPAs. I see so many theaters casting for specific shows, ask for monologues and then do call backs with sides. I feel it’s a better use of your time as an auditor to get those sides out as soon as possible, give your actors a bunch of time to prepare, see them in specific roles and then give adjustments. If, in the room you begin to see them in another role give them another side and a few more minutes to prepare.

    As an actor, my favorite audition invites go like this: An email inviting me to the audition process (hopefully a week or more out) with the character they want to see me in, a pdf of the script attached and a list of ALL of the sides they will be reading. As an actor I can then prepare the side they’re seeing me for, but I can also prepare additional sides of other characters of my type the auditors may not have thought off until I’m in the room.

  3. AMEN!!! I have received sides 5pm the day before a morning audition 😮 I know things can get hectic on the production side but COME ON! It almost sets an actor up to fail. I also feel torn about monologues when there are sides. BUT it does give you the chance to show more of what you can do.

Leave a Reply

