The Voices in My Head

I get in my own way.

It’s time, REALLY time, to “stay out of my own way.”

I am in a weekend acting workshop with Steven Anderson. He teaches in Seattle and LA (among other places). I HIGHLY recommend him as a teacher.

I am reminded of a very simple BLOCK that I am continuing to recognize and working diligently to destroy. This block is my mind telling me things like, “I am not right for this part,” “I don’t know how to character improvise,” and “I am not good enough…attractive enough…clever enough…” These FEARS, created by my mind (and untrue), are getting in the way of ALL of my creative impulses.

I am making a decision to push through my fears, to welcome them, to work with them, and to learn how to live with them. They are not going to get in my way any longer. And that voice in my head…I am going to watch that voice. Because when I watch the voice I am not the voice. I am present. This is what Eckhart Tolle calls “watching the thinker.” You are not your thoughts.

3 thoughts on “The Voices in My Head

  1. All that fears you’r talking about had always been present when I was tacking an important role. Desperation or inspiration? That’s the question! Maybe accept them and working ..even talking with them could be the turn point! Thanks David! Lisa

  2. I know that experience all too well. Thanks for being brave enough to put it out there. We’re all less alone in our most difficult challenges than we think we are.

Leave a Reply

