A Twitter Talk: Auditioning for Film/TV

A recent discussion with @benhodgestudios (acting teacher, PA), @marciliroff (Casting Director, LA), and @bellawonder (actress), dovetailed nicely with our discussion on the (unfortunate) use of monologues in Seattle indie film casting. Thank you for your words!

@marciliroff: I’ve been casting for over 30 yrs & never once asked 2 see a monologue…We need 2 see u interpret/read our scriptl or do an improv based on our script…Also we need 2 see u listen & respond not just spout lines of ur monologue. why wouldn’t they read sides from the film they’re auditioning for?

@SeattleActorDSH: Awfully good question. I just turned down a low-buget SAG feature which wanted a monologue. It’s a strange Seattle phenomenon.

@benhodgestudios: Not strange over here in flyover country. Ppl love their monologues out here.

@bellawonder: I agree that it feels dated and not very authentic.

@benhodgestudios: Improv is crucial. I don’t know how many times I’ve taken the script out of the actor’s hands.

@marciliroff: Disagree! Writers want 2 hear their words read & don’t like improv ESPECIALLY in TV. Improv is not just making sh*t up.

@bellawonder: I can barely remember the last time I performed a monologue.

@benhodgestudios: I believe I need 2 clarify: the improv is based off script, not random or unconnected.

@marciliroff: Formal improv training is part of a well rounded foundation & makes u a better listener.

@benhodgestudios: Improv only helps with the poor souls who haven’t prepped. Agreed 2 wanting 2hear the words…Again, monos restrict my actors IMO.

@marciliroff: Which is why we use sides 4 auditions.Frankly I’d rather see u listen than speak! Improv training is crucial but most film directors/producers/writers don’t like improv unless they ask 4it.

@benhodgestudios: I find that sides allow for something that monos can’t really show : connection to “the other.”

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Twitter Talk: Auditioning for Film/TV

  1. ‘ONLY’: was the wrong choice of words. Improv helps immensely w/actors that are struggling w/the read. And I also think that it is refreshing to see someone “Yes, and” properly and effectively. Accepting/offering does wonders for my attention to the actor.

  2. ‘ONLY’: was the wrong choice of words. Improv helps immensely w/actors that are struggling w/the read. And I also think that it is refreshing to see someone “Yes, and” properly and effectively. Accepting/offering does wonders for my attention to the actor.

  3. Pingback: Audition #13 (2012): Student Films | Seattle Actors' Craft

Leave a Reply

