Actor Spotlight: Rachelle Henry

Tell us your name:
Rachelle Henry.

Where do currently live?
Redmond, WA.

Do you have an agent? 
TCM Models and Talent.

Do you have a manager?  
Not yet.

Are you in the union?   
Not yet.

Where did you grow up?
I was born in Richland but I’ve lived in Redmond, WA since I was two.

When did you first discover acting?
Apparently before I was able to walk, I would crawl up in a mirrored cabinet that my Mom had and I would watch myself make faces; smiley faces, frowns, pouts. By Kindergarten graduation, I had the prize role as the butterfly in “The Hungry Little Caterpillar” and the rest is history in the making. 🙂

Are you in currently training/in class?     
Yes.

If you could chose any other career, what would it be?
In college, I hope to get a teaching degree to go along with my theatre / acting career.

Tell us an acting related success story:
I was a homeless girl in a music video and the feedback I’ve gotten is that it really makes people aware of the sad reality that the homeless face every day. I like roles that might make a difference to others lives.

Tell us an acting related challenge:
Oliver! The role of Oliver challenged me to portray a boy and even adults that I’ve known for a while thought I transformed.  That wasn’t easy!  I also had to develop a British accent!

Why do you do what you do (pursue the Artistic Path)?

It gives me joy! I love being part of it all. I like doing a lot of things, but there is not enough time to do everything. As an actor, I can do it all and be anything I want to be.  One day I can be a rebellious kid, the next day, sweet as sugar. Or another day I can be an avatar; the next, I can be a pediatrician.  If I want to try my hand at raising tigers or be a secret agent, I can do it.  Who else, other than an actor, can do that?  The possibilities are endless!

How do you measure your success?
I love seeing the smiles I see coming back at me, hearing the applause, getting pats on the back, and reading my name in the credits…but mostly I measure success by how many blessings I have. How much I learned today, how many friends I’ve made, how many privileges are mine, and how great it feels to be with my family.

Do you ever feel discouraged?
I have felt disappointed when I didn’t get something that I really wanted (specifically, a one act play that had a character I auditioned for…she had a quality that was really special and drew the audience to her) but I haven’t been discouraged…yet.

How do you deal with all the pressures of the actor’s path?
So far, I’m just dealing with the ordinary pressures of being young…like school and training. I have friends and I have my family to encourage and support me.

How would you advise someone new to the industry?
Learn all you can. Take classes and practice. Be prepared for your auditions. Audition as often as you can. You won’t get a role if you don’t try. Go ahead and take small roles because you gain experience. You learn from watching the process.

Do you have a 5 year plan?
In 5 years I’ll be 16. I’ll be old enough to drive a car. In 5 years I hope to be starting college through the “Running Start” program. I’m currently working on being a quadruple threat in acting, singing, dancing and modeling. It takes a lot of time and energy to get there. If it’s true that a person has to devote 40 hours a week to make acting my full-time job, the next five years is all about getting roles to use the skills I’m working on! I’d also like to continue learning accents and at least one other language.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned about your craft or your path in the past year?
I’ve learned that there is a lot to learn and learning from more experienced people and good teachers is really important..

What’s your favorite food?
I love a lot of foods but this week, I love potstickers! I like almost every kind of fruit and vegetable and I’ve become a real fan of the Food Network! I’m learning to cook lots of yummy things..

Do you have any pets?
I have an adorable Westie-Poo named Oreo. He’s black with white on his chest…and a few other places. He’s very smart and funny!

If you could travel to any place in the world, where would you go?
I would love to go to Russia!

What’s in your music playlist right now?
Adele, Maroon 5, lmfao, Avril Lavigne, ke$ha, Katy Perry. Carpenters, BTO, Chicago, EWF, Foster The People, David Pomeranz, Ella Fitzgerald

Who and what inspires you?
Courage under pressure. My Uncle Dave was diagnosed with acute leukemia in November. He has had to fight for his life and go through really hard times. He had a stem-cell transplant in April and Uncle Paul was the donor. Uncle Dave has shown me strength and courage and to keep a sense of humor even through the hardest days. It also reminds me that family really matters.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?
My dream is to see the world, help others in need, and make a difference!

Rachelle Henry

2 thoughts on “Actor Spotlight: Rachelle Henry

Leave a Reply

