2012: A Review

I need to catch up with myself.

It’s September. Already. Yes, I am now going to dive into the “what has David been up to so far this year” thing, and not because I am a big braggart, but because I quickly forget my triumphs and don’t have a knack for the diary. And, yes, I do hope that the occasional tale will inspire a reader or entertain a colleague.

I can start by telling you that I just co-directed my first film. Eh-ver. It was flipping exhausting. Lucky for me, I had a rock star team, including Ben Andrews from Evil Slave (co-director) and Chris Taylor from Adventus Films (D.P.) Oh, and our 1st AD was a rock star, too. His name is Steve Harshfield. I suggest you look him up. And, a BIG shout to Rick Walters for bringing us all together. We shot, in two days, a short film. About 14 pages of material. And I think it was pretty damn successful. Stay tuned. As things come together, I will share more.

Ok. I shot Grimm…You know that. Oh, and I opened The Art of Racing in the Rain on the same day. That rocked…

Er…I had an epic one liner on the blockbuster TV movie, Bigfoot, starring Danny Bonaduce and and Barry Williams. My line? “Gunner, stand by.” Epic.

I auditioned. A lot. Didn’t get cast. Often. Turned down some staged play auditions – I am making it a “rule” to work only once per year on the stage.

I travelled to Scotland with my best friend, business partner, and wife, Angela DiMarco, to see two dear friends tie the knot on near the ocean and against some of the most beautiful backdrops I have ever seen. That was much needed and oh – so – magical.

I shot 3 other short films – The Last Audition, The Strong Man, and All Things Hidden, and am booked to shoot a fourth in October – Deadline.

Oh, and I have a one day shoot on the feature film, A Bit of Bad Luck in October, too.

And – wow, almost forgot – just in case you missed it, Shadowed (the feature I shot last year) premiers at the Tacoma Film Festival in October, and All My Presidents (the short I shot last year), plays at L.A. Shorts Fest this month!

Phew. Now I am caught up with myself.

And, now you are too.

Stay Inspired. Do good work. Be nice to people. Keeping making art.

~ David

2 thoughts on “2012: A Review

  1. Really enjoy your blog, David. Kinda helped me take a look at my non-career. Out here in Hawaii we’re lucky to get any auditions at all. Let’s see, this year so far I got a part in a local bank commercial, had a couple of auditions for print ads and a short film, auditioned for The Last Resort which premieres on ABC 9/27 (didn’t get it), got a part in a friend’s short film that shoots in October, and, a highlight for me, I did attend two two-week workshops with Iris Klein who comes in from LA. She’s awesome if you ever have a chance to work with her. In between working on acting I’m rewriting a screenplay that placed 4th in an international competition, and I’m about 15 pages into a new screenplay. Writing and acting only complement each other. I love both. Yes, I agree, keep making art. Whatever it takes, however long it takes. Just do it, right?

Leave a Reply

